Impact of Assessment

Recently I was asked the following question: What assessment experience has had a lasting impact on you?

As you reflect on that question I want you to think:
Do you automatically select a positive experience or a negative experience?
Was an experience where you were assessed or were you the assessor?

I personally selected a personal experienced when someone had assessed me, and it was a negative experience as the outcome was not what I had wanted or expected, and there was no feedback provided as to why or how to improve.

I think that this reflection activity was a powerful experience, because even though I have had a significant number of positive experiences with assessment, the one that has had a lasting impact on me was negative.

As an educator, I think that this underlies all that we do in our classrooms to help insure that students have positive experiences with assessments, as the impact of a negative experience can outweigh a great number of positive experiences.

How do we insure that students have positive experiences with assessment?
What are the qualities of a positive experience? What are the qualities of a negative experience? 

Leave a Reply

