Where does assessment fit in the teaching and learning process?

Where does assessment fit in the teaching and learning process? 
For me, assessment is a continual process that happens throughout the teaching and learning process through formal and informal methods. At times it can be difficult to separate “assessment” from the teaching and learning process because it allows me to adapt my teaching on the go, and meet the students where they are and move them forward.

It is important to recognize that “assessment” is a very broad term and there are different forms of assessment that teachers employ during different phases of the teaching and learning process.  Currently, assessment is commonly broken down into three categories: (1) assessment for learning (2) assessment of learning (3) assessment as learning. For more information on the differences between these categories the document Growing Success: Assessment, Evaluation, and Reporting in Ontario Schools provides an excellent and up to date overview.

Over the past few years, I have been developing my knowledge of the IB Primary Years Programme and recently attended a workshop on assessment. During that workshop we examined the section of Marking the PYP Happen, related to assessment. As we were working our way through the material, I was brainstorming the big ideas to help myself grasps the material. When I was finished some of the people in my group saw what I had created and were interested in looking at it.

When I created the diagram, it really reinforced how central “assessment” is in the teaching and learning process. I have printed a copy off and put it in my day planner as a constant reminder of how important good assessment practices are in the teaching and learning process.

This diagram is only my interpretation of the ideas expressed in Making the PYP Happen and certainly can be improved.

How would you suggest improving it? 

Leave a Reply

